Latrobe Health Assembly

Asthma medication education in pharmacies

06.09.2018

Throughout September, the Latrobe Health Assembly will be funding a respiratory nurse to attend pharmacies in Morwell, Moe, Traralgon and Churchill.

This project is the second stage of a community campaign following on from the Latrobe Health Assembly #Scarfie asthma management awareness campaign in June.

Asthma rates within the Latrobe Valley are in line with state averages, which is a positive, however the rates of admission to hospital and episodes requiring emergency care surpass the state average. This highlights a need for better asthma management, rather than asthma prevention.

With the help of Discount Chemist Centre, Chemist Warehouse, Latrobe Regional Hospital and Latrobe Community Health Service, respiratory nurses will be available to discuss and educate the community on the correct use of asthma medication/preventions to control their conditions.

Respiratory nurses will be available to discuss asthma management and medication/prevention options with customers on the following dates/times:

Chemist Warehouse Traralgon:
Monday 10 September – 9am-1pm
Monday 17 September – 1pm-5pm
Monday 24 September – 9am-1pm

Discount Chemist Centre Morwell:
Tuesday 11 September – 9am-12.45pm
Tuesday 18 September – 1.15pm-5pm
Tuesday 25 September – 9am-12.45pm

Discount Chemist Centre Moe:
Wednesday 12 September – 9am-12.30pm
Wednesday 19 September – 9am-12.30pm
Wednesday 26 September – 1.30pm-5pm

Discount Chemist Centre Churchill:
Thursday 13 September – 9am-12.30pm
Thursday 20 September – 1.30pm-5pm
Thursday 27 September – 9am-12.30pm


Return to Media & Press Releases